Texas school districts create Rural Schools Innovation Zone

In a pioneering new partnership, three districts in South Texas are joining forces to create a first-of-its-kind initiative to improve educational opportunities for their rural students.

The school boards of Brooks County, Freer, and Premont Independent School Districts have voted to participate in the new Rural Schools Innovation Zone (RSIZ), which will initially consist of four schools: Falfurrias Junior High School, Falfurrias High School, Freer High School, and Premont Collegiate High School.

Educators, leaders and trustees in these Texas districts share a belief that students from rural communities should have increased opportunity to receive expert instruction and prepare for challenging career paths on the way to postsecondary success.