Chris Collins lines up votes for second term as Springfield School Committee vice-chairman

Mass Live – “School Committee vice-chairman Christopher Collins said he has lined up the votes necessary to win a second term as vice-chairman.

In addition to his own vote, Collins said on Monday, he has secured the votes of Mayor Domenic J. Sarno, who serves as the board chairman, and fellow School Committee members Denise Hurst and Peter Murphy. There are seven School Committee members.

“I told the mayor I wanted to stay on to see the Springfield Empowerment Zone … through,” Collins said, adding that his supporters said they want continuity and stability as the School Department faces challenges including the adoption of a new standardized test to replace MCAS.”

Read More